Skip to main content

Streamlined Sales Tax (SST)

The goal Streamlined Sales Tax group is to simplify and modernize sales and use tax collection and administration in the United States. The SST technical committees developed and XML based schema with the help of the FTA e-standards group. The SST XML Schema allows states to develop systems to process sales tax returns and payments from sellers. It allows sellers to file and pay to participating states using the same process. Sellers can develop their own XML system or they can hire CSP to process their transactions real-time tax determination, tax returns filing and payments on their behave. Sellers must first register with the SST system.

The Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA) became effective on October 1, 2005. The current full members members of the SST are: Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Add new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
View More >>